Story Structure Diagrams

Yes, it’s true, I’ve had story structure on the brain. I’ve also recently joined pinterest (of which I immediately became addicted). But there’s a happy side effect of these two obsessions… this post! I love visual representations of novels and narrative structure, and pinterest gave me a place to collect all these fascinating, beautiful, funny, and brilliant story diagrams.

Feast your eyes!

Three Act Plot Structure:

 

Four Act Structure:

 

Freytag’s Pyramid:

 

Swooping Character Arcs:

 

The Hero’s Journey:

 

Branching Structure:

 

And Just For Fun:

Check out more charts on my Pinterest Page!

Happy structure dreams everyone.

9 thoughts on “Story Structure Diagrams

  1. I have story structure on the brain today. This was a feast for my eyes. I can’t wait to get home and see it full sized on my computer. I never thought to look at story structure on Pintrist. Thank you for your post. It was great help.

Leave a comment